Winners Announced for Sheikh Zayed Book Award 2018-2019

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award has announced winners for 2018/2019, 13th edition of the competition, which rewards exceptional literary and intellectual publications, alongside foreign writers whose translated works have enriched Arab intellectual, cultural, literary, and social life.

The award has gained worldwide recognition over the last 13 years, with growing participation and engagement, from world-class thinkers, authors and literary scholars.

Upon congratulating this year’s winners, HE Sheikh Sultan Bin Tahnoon Al Nahyan, Chairman of Sheikh Zayed Book Award Board of Trustees, voiced his pride in the success of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, which has helped encourage creative production and enhance the Arab literary canon.

He said “The impressive gathering of world-class thinkers and authors we see amongst the Award-winners is a testament to the success of this initiative, which we have been able to enhance and grow year after year.”

Dr Ali bin Tamim, Secretary General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, echoed these sentiments stating that “The Award has remained at the forefront of the Arabic intellectual, cultural and literary landscape for 13 years now, garnering recognition for its credibility and transparency. With each edition, participation and engagement grows, and we look forward to continuing our mission of the enrichment of Arab literature for many years to come.”

Tamin also explained that the winners were chosen after a thorough screening process, completed over the previous months, with assistance from the Scientific Committee.

The award ceremony, to honour this year’s winners, will be held on April 25th at the Plaza Auditorium of Louvre, Abu Dhabi. As yet, ‘Cultural Personality of the Year, has not been named but the winner will receive an inscribed gold medal, certificate of merit and 1million Dirhams in prize money.


Winners List

‘Literature’ Category Award – Moroccan writer and novelist Bensalem Himmich’s autobiography ‘The Self – Between Existence and Creation’ (Le Centre Culturel Du Livre, 2018)

‘Children’s Literature’ Award – Hussain Almutawaa, from Kuwait with his novel ‘I Dream of Being a Concrete Mixer’ (Al Hadaek Group, 2018)

‘Young Author’ Award – Algerian scholar, Dr. Abderrezak Belagrouz, with his book ‘The Essence of Values and the Freedom of Social Concepts’ (The Arabian Establishment for Thought and Innovation, 2017)

‘Literary & Art Criticism’ Award – Dr. Charbel Dagher from Lebanon with his book ‘Contemporary Arabic Poetry’ – the prose (Al Maaref Forum, 2018)

‘Arab Culture in Other Languages’ Award – British academic and researcher Philip F. Kennedy with his book ‘Recognition in the Arabic Narrative Tradition’ (Edinburgh University Press, 2016)

‘Publishing & Technology’ Award – went to the UAE’s Arab Centre for Geographic Literature – Irtiyad al-Afaq, an independent, non-profit Arabic research centre in Abu Dhabi.

Latest Post

© Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved