Translation Category – Long-List Announced for the Sheikh Zayed Book Award

The nominations for the translation category of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, were announced last week, according to Gulf News.

Of the original 107 nominations, just 12 have been selected for the long-list, including translations from English to Arabic, French to Arabic, and German to Arabic.


Of the longlisted titles, the following are English-to-Arabic translations:

‘Masarat Al Qasida Al Arabiya Al Mou’asera’ (Arabic Poetry: Trajectories of Modernity and Tradition), author Mohsin J. Al Mousawi, translated by Ahmad Bouhsane from Morocco, published by Toubkal Publishing House (2017)

‘Hal Baa’d Al Lughat Afdal Men Baa’d?’ (Are Some Languages Better than Others?), author R.M.W. Dixon, translated by ‘Hamza Bin Qublan Al Mozainy’ from Saudi Arabia, published by Dar Konoz Al Marefa Publishing & Distribution (2018).

‘Thalath Mudon Mashriqiya’ (Levant: Splendour and Catastrophe on the Mediterranean), author Philip Mansel, translated by Mustafa Kassem from Egypt, published by National Council for Culture, Arts and Letters — Kuwait (2017)

‘Al Moshkelan Al Asasiyan fy Nazareyat Al Maa’rifa’ (The Two Fundamental Problems of the Theory of Knowledge), author Carl Popper, translated by Najib Al Hassadi from Libya, published by Jadawel Publishing, Translation & Distribution (2018).

‘Al O’nf: Mukhtarat Falsafiya’ (Violence: A Philosophical Anthology), author Vittorio Bufacchi, translated by Yasser Qunsowa from Egypt, published by the National Centre for Translation, Cairo (2017)

‘Nazariya Fy Al A’adala’ (A Theory of Justice), author John Rawls, translated by Redouan Al Ayadi from Morocco, published by Dar Al Kitab Al Jadeed (2018)

‘Al Jeen: Tareekh Hameem’ (The Gene: An Intimate History), author Siddhartha Mukherjee, translated by Ehad Abdul Hamid from Egypt, published by Dar Al Tanweer Printing & Publishing (2018).


For French to Arabic translation the following three titles have made the long-list:

‘Osoul Al Tae’weeliya’ (Les Origines de L’hermeneutique), author Georges Gusdorf translated by Fathi Inqizzu from Tunisia, published by Mominoun Without Borders Institution (2018)

‘Bahr Al Khulfaa’ (La Mer des Califes: Une Histoire De La Méditerranée Musulmane), author Cristophe Picard and translated by Dr. Jean M. Jabbour from Lebanon, published by Librairie Orientale (2018)

‘Ma Hwa Al Naqd?’ (Qu’est-ce que La Critique? Suivi De La Culture De Soi), author Michel Foucault, translated by Mohamed Azwita from Morocco, and published by Afrique Orient (2018).


Finally, the following works translated from German to Arabic also made the long-list for the award:

‘Al Yahoud Al Arab Fy Israel’ (Arabische Juden in Israel), author Dr. Omar Kamil, translated by Dr. Sherine Al Kabbani from Egypt, published by Bibliotheca Alexandrina (2018)

‘Tareekh E’lm Al Kalam Al Islamy’ (Geschichte der islamischen Theologie), author Tilman Nagel, translated by (Syrian/German) Mahmoud Kabibu, published by Al-Warrak Publishing (2018).

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award commemorates the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founding President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi, and his ground-breaking role in promoting national unity and development.

The Awards are presented annually to writers, intellectuals, and publishers, as well as young talent whose writing and translation in humanities objectively enriches Arab intellectual, cultural, literary and social life.

The ‘Translation Category’ includes work which has been translated from Arabic to another language, or, from another language into Arabic, and must have been published, in book format, within the last two years.

Each prize consists of a gold medal bearing the Sheikh Zayed Book Award logo, a certificate of merit, and a cash reward, comprising a total prize value of seven million UAE Dirhams (US $1.9m) annually.

The Cultural Personality of the Year receives a prize of one million UAE Dirhams, while the winners of the other categories, including the translation award, each receive 750,000 UAE Dirhams.

Winners will be officially announced in March 2019, with an award ceremony scheduled to take place on 25th April 2019 at Manarat Al Saadiyat (MAS), Abu Dhabi.

Latest Post

© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved